Aquasure vs NuvoH2O: Salt-Based or Salt-Free?
Short answer: Aquasure listings name salt-based ion exchange and a brine tank, while NuvoH2O listings name salt-free, citric acid or citrus-based conditioning. The type word in the title is the first clue. A salt-based pick needs a brine tank; a salt-free pick does not. Compare stated details such as grain capacity, flow rate and bathrooms, and read the maker's page for how each type works.
Type words on Aquasure listings
Aquasure is a brand that appears on salt-based water softener listings. A title usually starts with the brand, then the grain capacity, then a type word such as "salt-based" or "ion exchange." Other titles name the brine tank as the separate component. Those words tell you the type: an ion exchange unit that uses resin and a salt solution.
The grain figure on an Aquasure listing is the stated capacity of the resin tank. The flow rate in GPM may appear in the bullet list. The listing may also name the control valve type, such as "Fleck 5600SXT" or "metered." Read those as stated details, not as a promise about performance.
Aquasure listings may appear in a bundle with a prefilter, or as a configuration with two tanks. The type word remains salt-based even when the bundle adds a filter stage. See the salt-based softener guide for how those listings are grouped.
Type words on NuvoH2O listings
NuvoH2O listings use different type words. The title often says "salt-free," "citric acid," "citrus-based" or "conditioner." A typical title reads "NuvoH2O Manor Salt-Free Water Softener." The word "salt-free" tells you the unit does not use ion exchange resin or a brine tank. Instead, it uses a citric acid cartridge that the maker describes as a conditioning process.
NuvoH2O listings do not carry a grain capacity, because the type does not remove calcium and magnesium in the same way. The listing may state the number of bathrooms it covers, such as "for homes up to 1,500 sq ft." The flow rate may be stated in GPM. The type word is the key difference from a salt-based listing.
NuvoH2O listings also appear in bundles with a prefilter or a carbon filter. The type word remains salt-free even when the bundle adds a filter stage. See the salt-free softener guide for how those listings are grouped.
Comparing the two types on a listing
When you see both an Aquasure and a NuvoH2O listing in a search, read the type word in the title first. Aquasure titles say salt-based; NuvoH2O titles say salt-free. These are two different shopping categories, not direct alternatives. The salt-based type uses ion exchange and a brine tank, while the salt-free type uses a citric acid cartridge that the maker describes as a conditioning process.
The grain capacity is only stated on the salt-based listings. NuvoH2O listings do not state a grain figure. The flow rate may be stated on both, but comparing flow rate between a salt-based and a salt-free unit compares two different technologies, not a direct number.
The maker's page for each model describes the process in detail. The listing gives you the type word and the stated details. The Aquasure guide and the NuvoH2O guide group each brand by stated details. For a home that cannot add a brine tank, the salt-free guide is the matching starting point.
What to read on the maker's page
The listing gives you the type word, grain capacity, flow rate and any stated features. The maker's page gives you the description of how the unit works. For an Aquasure model, the maker's page describes the ion exchange process, the resin type and the brine tank. For a NuvoH2O model, the maker's page describes the citric acid cartridge and the conditioning process.
The maker's page also states the flow rate, the number of bathrooms it covers, and the replacement cartridge schedule. The listing may not state the cartridge size; the maker's page will. The maker's page also states the warranty terms and the installation manual.
For a home on a private well, the EPA's private wells page covers well owner responsibilities and testing guidance. Read the EPA page for your own well, and read the maker's page for the hardness setting instructions. The EPA page is a starting point, not a substitute for a local water test.
Choosing between the two types
The choice between an Aquasure salt-based listing and a NuvoH2O salt-free listing is a type question. The first step is to read what the listing states. If the title says salt-based, the type is salt-based. If the listing says salt-free, the type is salt-free. If the listing does not state the type, the type is not stated by the seller and the maker's page should be checked before you assume one or the other.
The second step is your own shopping situation. A salt-based type fits a home that can add a brine tank. A salt-free type fits a home that cannot add a brine tank. The listing does not state the brine tank size; the maker's page does.
The grain capacity on an Aquasure listing is the stated resin capacity. The flow rate on both listings is the maker's stated flow rate. Use those details to build a shortlist, then compare two or three listings side by side. The buying guide for salt-based and the buying guide for salt-free each explain what stated details matter for that type.
This site compares listings on stated details only. The guides do not rank by price or by personal experience. A pick is a model whose title and bullets state the details the guide asks for.
- Read the type word in the title first: salt-based or salt-free.
- Read the grain capacity if the listing states one.
- Read the flow rate in GPM and the number of bathrooms the maker states.
- Read the maker's page for the process description and the warranty.
- Compare two listings side by side using only stated details.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| Your home can add a brine tank and you want the salt-based ion exchange type | An Aquasure listing whose title says salt-based and states the grain capacity | Best Aquasure Water Softener (2026): 11 Picks by Stated Details |
| Your home cannot add a brine tank and you want a salt-free conditioning type | A NuvoH2O listing whose title says salt-free or citrus-based | Best NuvoH2O Water Softener (2026): 4 Salt-Free Picks |
| You want to compare stated grain capacities and flow rates across both brands | The stated details in each listing, not the type promises | Best Water Softener (2026): Picks by Type, Grains and Regeneration |
| You live in a large home and want a larger stated grain capacity | A salt-based listing with the larger stated grain figure | Best 48,000 Grain Water Softener (2026): Picks by Stated Details |
| You shop on a budget and want to see the lower price tiers | The under-budget guides that group listings by stated details | Best Water Softener Under $600 (2026): 9 Picks by Stated Details |
Questions
Which brand is better, Aquasure or NuvoH2O?
Neither is compared by quality or performance in this site's guides. Aquasure listings state salt-based ion exchange; NuvoH2O listings state salt-free conditioning. The right pick depends on whether your home can add a brine tank.
Do NuvoH2O listings carry a grain capacity?
No, the salt-free type does not use a resin tank with a stated grain figure. The listing may state flow rate and the number of bathrooms the maker covers. Read those stated details instead.
What does "citric acid" or "citrus-based" mean on a NuvoH2O listing?
Those are type words describing the salt-free conditioning process. The maker's page explains how the citric acid cartridge works. The listing does not state a grain capacity for that type.
Can I compare the flow rate of an Aquasure and a NuvoH2O listing?
You can read both stated flow rates, but comparing them directly compares two different technologies. The maker's page for each model is the place to read the flow rate as a stated detail.
A listing does not say salt-based or salt-free. What should I do?
The type is not stated by the seller. Read the maker's page for the model before you assume the type. The guides only group listings whose titles state the type word.
Recent updates
- : First published.