Best DuraWater Water Softener in 2026: 4 Picks by Stated Details
The top pick in this DuraWater buying guide is the Fleck 9100 SXT Metered Dual Tank Softener: it is the only dual tank listing of the 4, its title names the largest stated grain figure here (80,000 grains) and metered regeneration, and it carries the most stated details in the list. The guide compares all 4 DuraWater listings on the details each title states and on live prices, and orders them by the number of details named.
4 picks from 5 water softeners that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 20 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
| # | Pick | Water softener | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Only dual tank listing with metered regeneration | Fleck 9100 SXT Metered Dual Tank Softener 24/7 Soft Water | $2,026.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:08 PDT - Details) |
| 2 | Only salt-based listing that names metered regeneration | AFWFilters 5600sxt Metered On-demand 48 | $793.00 (as of 10/17/2026 22:25 PDT - Details) |
| 3 | Only listing here that names iron | DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Iron Blaster 48 | $839.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:01 PDT - Details) |
| 4 | Whole-house, 48,000 grain salt-based listing | DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Whole House Water Softener | $825.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:01 PDT - Details) |
Which one should you buy?
- For a home that wants a second tank: This is the only dual tank listing in the DuraWater list, and its title names an 80,000 grain capacity and metered regeneration. See pick 1
- For a well that names iron as a concern: The iron blaster is the only listing in this guide whose title names iron, stated as a 48,000 grain salt-based unit. See pick 3
- For a buyer who wants metered regeneration on a salt-based unit: This is the only salt-based listing here whose title names metered, on-demand regeneration, at 48,000 stated grains. See pick 2
- For a buyer comparing a basic whole-house salt-based option: Its title states a whole-house salt-based type and a 48,000 grain figure, with no further detail named. See pick 4
The 4 picks
1 Only dual tank listing with metered regeneration
Fleck 9100 SXT Metered Dual Tank Softener 24/7 Soft Water
- System type
- Dual tank
- Grain capacity
- 80000 grains
- Metered regeneration
- Yes
$2,026.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:08 PDT - Details)
Ranks first in this DuraWater list: its title names a dual tank type, an 80,000 grain capacity (the largest stated figure here) and metered regeneration. It is the only listing of the 4 that names a dual tank type and the one with the most stated details.
Pros
- Dual tank type named in the title
- 80,000 grains, the largest stated figure here
- Metered regeneration named
- Most stated details of the 4 listings
Cons
- Gallons and flow rate not stated by the seller
- Iron not named in the title
Good fit if
- A home that wants a second tank, per the title's dual tank type
- A buyer who wants metered regeneration named in the title
Skip if
- If you want a salt-based single tank unit: the other 3 listings are salt-based
- If a well names iron as a concern: the iron blaster is the listing that names it
Verdict: The DuraWater listing with the most stated details: a dual tank, 80,000 grain unit whose title names metered regeneration.
2 Only salt-based listing that names metered regeneration
AFWFilters 5600sxt Metered On-demand 48
- System type
- Salt-based
- Grain capacity
- 48000 grains
- Metered regeneration
- Yes
$793.00 (as of 10/17/2026 22:25 PDT - Details)
Ranks second: its title names a salt-based type, 48,000 grains and metered, on-demand regeneration, so it states 1 detail beyond the type and grain figure. Among the 3 listings that state 1 further detail, it appears earlier in the pool order.
Pros
- Salt-based type named in the title
- 48,000 grains stated
- Metered, on-demand regeneration named
- Only salt-based listing here that names metered regeneration
Cons
- Iron not named in the title
- Gallons and flow rate not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- A buyer who wants metered regeneration on a salt-based unit
- A home comparing single tank salt-based units on a stated grain figure
Skip if
- If a well names iron as a concern: the iron blaster is the listing that names it
- If you want a dual tank type: the top pick is the only one
Verdict: The only salt-based listing in this guide whose title names metered regeneration, at 48,000 stated grains.
3 Only listing here that names iron
DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Iron Blaster 48
- System type
- Salt-based
- Grain capacity
- 48000 grains
- Iron removal
- Yes
$839.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:01 PDT - Details)
Ranks third: its title names a salt-based type, 48,000 grains and iron, also 1 detail beyond the type and grain figure. It sits after the metered salt-based listing in the pool order, as the only listing to name iron.
Pros
- Salt-based type named in the title
- 48,000 grains stated
- Iron named in the title
- Only listing in this guide that names iron
Cons
- Metered regeneration not stated by the seller
- Gallons and flow rate not stated by the seller
Good fit if
- A home on a well that names iron as a concern
- A buyer comparing salt-based units with a stated iron detail
Skip if
- If you want metered regeneration named in the title: the metered salt-based pick names it
- If you want a dual tank type
Verdict: The DuraWater listing whose title names iron, a salt-based 48,000 grain unit.
4 Whole-house, 48,000 grain salt-based listing
DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Whole House Water Softener
- System type
- Salt-based
- Grain capacity
- 48000 grains
$825.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:01 PDT - Details)
Ranks fourth: its title names a salt-based whole-house type and a 48,000 grain figure, but no further detail is stated. It carries the fewest stated details of the 4 listings in this guide.
Pros
- Whole-house salt-based type named in the title
- 48,000 grains stated
- One of 3 salt-based listings at 48,000 grains
Cons
- Metered regeneration not stated by the seller
- Iron not named in the title
- No further detail beyond type and grain figure
Good fit if
- A buyer comparing basic whole-house salt-based units on stated type and grains
- A home that does not need metered regeneration or iron named
Skip if
- If a well names iron as a concern
- If you want metered regeneration named in the title
Verdict: The simplest DuraWater listing here: a whole-house salt-based 48,000 grain unit with no further detail stated.
Side by side
| # | Water softener | System type | Grain capacity | Capacity in gallons | Flow rate | Metered regeneration | Iron removal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fleck 9100 SXT Metered Dual Tank Softener 24/7 Soft Water | Dual tank | 80000 grains | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 2 | AFWFilters 5600sxt Metered On-demand 48 | Salt-based | 48000 grains | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated |
| 3 | DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Iron Blaster 48 | Salt-based | 48000 grains | not stated | not stated | not stated | Yes |
| 4 | DURAWATER Fleck 5600 SXT Whole House Water Softener | Salt-based | 48000 grains | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
This guide compares the 4 listings whose stated brand is DuraWater. Each listing is compared on the details its title states: type, grain capacity, metered regeneration and iron. The ordering rule puts listings that name a type first, then listings that name a grain capacity, then by the number of other stated details (gallons, flow rate, metered, iron, resin, bathrooms), then by the order in the pool. All 4 listings name a type and a grain figure; 3 of them name 1 further detail and 1 names none, so the order runs dual tank, metered salt-based, iron blaster, whole-house. No listing is ranked by price; live prices print with each listing.
How to choose
Salt-based or dual tank in the title
Of the 4 DuraWater listings in this guide, 1 title names a dual tank type and 3 name a salt-based type. The dual tank listing states an 80,000 grain figure; the 3 salt-based listings each state 48,000 grains. The guide reads the type from each title and never claims one type works better than another.
Grain capacity as the title prints it
The catalogue prints a grain figure for every listing in this guide: 80,000 grains for the dual tank, 48,000 grains for the 3 salt-based units. The figure is the seller's own. Sizing a softener for a household is read on the maker's page against a hardness reading of your own water, as the Penn State Extension page explains.
Metered regeneration as a title word
Two of the 4 listings name metered or on-demand regeneration in the title: the dual tank and 1 of the salt-based units. The other 2 do not state it. The guide does not turn metered regeneration into a schedule or a salt or water saving.
Iron, wells and what the title names
Only 1 listing in this guide names iron in its title. The catalogue holds no iron level and no hardness figure, and that listing is read only as one whose title names iron. EPA's private wells pages explain what well owners should consider.
What this guide leaves out (and why)
This guide compares DuraWater listings on stated details and live prices only. It has no data on drinking water safety, sodium, plumbing, installation, certifications or savings. Those questions belong to the maker's manual, a licensed plumber and the official pages listed in the sources.
Questions
How many DuraWater listings are in this guide?
This guide compares the 4 listings whose stated brand is DuraWater: 1 dual tank unit and 3 salt-based units. Each is compared on the details its title states, such as type, grain capacity, metered regeneration and iron, and on live prices.
What does metered regeneration mean in a listing title?
Two of the 4 listings name metered or on-demand regeneration in the title: the dual tank and 1 salt-based unit. This guide reports that a title names it and does not add a schedule, salt use or water use figure.
Which DuraWater listing should a well owner choose?
The guide cannot say. Only 1 listing's title names iron, and the catalogue holds no hardness level, no iron level and no sizing data. Read the maker's page and the EPA private wells pages in the sources to see what a well owner should consider.
Can the grain figure size a unit for my household?
The grain figure is the seller's own stated figure: 80,000 grains for the dual tank and 48,000 for the 3 salt-based listings. Sizing a softener for a household is read on the maker's page against a hardness reading of your own water, not from this guide.
Does this guide cover drinking water safety, sodium, plumbing or certifications?
No. The catalogue has no data for drinking water safety, sodium, plumbing or certifications, so this guide makes no claim about them. The maker's manual, a licensed plumber and the official pages in the sources are where those questions are answered.
Recent updates
- : First published.


